FONASBA Announces Winner of the 2016 Young Ship Agent or Broker Award


FONASBA is very pleased to announce that the winner of its Young Ship Agent or Broker Award for 2016 is Tim Polson of Asiaworld Shipping of Australia (pictured below).

The Award was introduced in 2015 with the aim of encouraging members of the ship agency and ship broking profession aged 40 or younger to further their academic and practical training and education by researching and writing a thesis-standard paper on a maritimerelated subject of their choice.

The Award attracted seven entries and these were reviewed and judged by a small committee headed by former FONASBA President and Honorary Member Gunnar J. Heinonen of Finland and supported by Charlotte Kirk FICS, Marketing Director of prize sponsors ITIC and Capt.Jakov Karmelić, FONASBA’s Vice President for Education. Announcing the winner, Mr.Heinonen said “My colleagues and I were extremely impressed by the standard of Mr. Polson’s entry and we congratulate him and indeed the other entrants on entering another set of high quality papers. The number and level of the entries again this year has once again proven the concept of the Award and we will continue to build on the success of the first two years to further expand and develop the Award next year and beyond”. Mr Heinonen also expressed FONASBA’s gratitude to prize sponsors BIMCO and ITIC for their ongoing support for the Award.

Tim Polson,Winner of the FONASBA Young Ship Agent or Broker Award 2016

Thanking FONASBA for his Award, Mr. Polson said “I would like to thank FONASBA very much for the opportunity to participate in this event, and for awarding me an unexpected first prize. This is a great honour for me as I am passionate about contributing towards the development of the ‘next generation’ of shipping professionals”. Ken Fitzpatrick, Chairman of Shipping Australia Ltd. added “Shipping Australia is extremely pleased that an Australian shipbroker is FONASBA’s Young Ship Agent or Broker for 2016. We congratulate Tim Polson on an excellent presentation to take the award. It has been a high point in a somewhat difficult freight market."

The other entrants for the 2016 Award were:
Leandro Henrique Chaves Ferreira, Lachmann
Shipping Agency (Brazil) Radoslav Jordanov MICS, MSC Bulgaria (Bulgaria) Carlos Mariano, Lachmann Shipping Agency (Brazil) Luisa Mastellone, Marinter Shipping Agency
Srl (Italy) Clint M. Pantel, CMA-CGM Deutschland (Germany) Botond Szalma jnr., Fluvius Kft. (Hungary)

Source: Press Release 


Previous Next

We Have Increased & Enhanced Our Global Presence: Mr. Suresh Sinha, MD, IRClass

View More Videos


India Tanker Shipping Trade Summit 2018

View All Albums