Mr. S. Hajara & Capt. Arun Karkare Receive Highest Maritime Awards


April 5 is not any other day. Ask any professional from shipping industry in India and he/she will tell you what it means for him/her. This is one of the most celebrated day for them. April 5 marks the National Maritime Day of India. On this day in 1919 navigation history was created when SS Loyalty, the first ship of the Scindia Steam Navigation Company, journeyed to the United Kingdom. The National Maritime Day was first celebrated on 5th April, 1964.

53rd National Maritime Day was celebrated yesterday at Swatantryaveer Savarkar Auditorium, Dadar (Mumbai). Vice Admiral Shri. Sunil Lamba. CNC, Western Naval Command was the Chief Guest at this function. Consul General of Federal Republic of Germany graced the occasion as Guest of Honor. Shri. Deepak Shetty,I.R.S., D.G. Shipping, Capt. B.B. Sinha, Chairman & MD Shipping Corporation of India and several well-known dignitaries like Capt. Anil Singh, Sr. V.P. & Managing Director, Indian Sub-Continent, DP World and Mr. Sailesh Bhatia, Managing Director, Bhatia Shipping addressed the august gathering. Capt. Suresh George , serving Master Mariner gave a presentation on Ease of Doing Business from Seafarers Perspective.

However, the highlight of the NMD celebration was the award felicitation.

Eminent personalities who have dedicated decades of outstanding service to shipping and maritime industry were presented with various honors/ award. An award is something given to a person to recognize his excellence  and contribution in maritime industry but it also motivates many others to seek excellence and serve the industry and nation better.

Mr. Sabyasachi Hajara, Chief Advisor, Elektrans Global Group, Ex-Chairman and MD of The Shipping Corporation of India  and Capt. Arun Kumar Karkare were honored with VARUNA AWARDS. The National Maritime Day Celebrations (Central) Committee institutes its highest award to recognize and honor persons for their sustained and outstanding contribution to the Indian Maritime Sector.

Capt. Nand Hiranandani was awarded with NMDC Award of Excellence

Dr. Capt. Suresh Bhardwaj , Capt. Ajay Achutan, Dr. Prof. K.A. Simon, Prof. G.A. Soman were awarded with NMDC award of excellence

Capt. Sukhbir Singh and Capt. Radhika Menon received Bravery At Sea Award( As she was not present on this occasion, her representative Mr. Amar Singh Thakur received the award)

Best Foreign Employer of India Seafarer was awarded to Anglo Eastern Ship Management India Pvt. Ltd. It was received by Capt Vinay Kumar, Managing Director, AESM India Pvt. Ltd

The Most Compassionate Employer of Indian Seafarers was awarded to The Shipping Corporation of India Ltd., Wallem Shipmanagement &  Elegant Marine Services Pvt. Ltd

Gallantry Award presented to the awardees of operational medal of Norwegian Armed Forces. The recipients were Shri. Vimal Mandal, Shri. A. Chakoo, Mr. Nitin Wadia, Shri. I. Subramanium, Shri. R. Collako . This is the first time when non Norwegian citizens are awarded this medal.

Maritime Proficiency Award for 2015

- Mr. Prashant Pant , youngest officer who obtained  2nd Mate C.O.C (Parents received this award on his behalf)

- Ms. Ruchi Suri, youngest lady officer who obtained 2nd Mate C.O.C.

- Mr. Rakesh Kumar, youngest rating to obtain 2nd Mate C.O.C 

- Mr. Praveen Kumar, youngest officer who obtained  M.E.O. Class IV

- Ms. Snidgda Sabad, youngest lady officer who obtained  M.E.O. Class IV

- Mr. S.K. Patro, youngest rating to obtain M.E.O. Class IV



The Shipping Tribune will publish more details about the achievements of all the recipients of these awards and few more awards which were distributed at the National Maritime Day in subsequent articles .

The event concluded with vote of thanks by Capt. B.B. Sinha, Chairman & Managing Director of The Shipping Corporation of India.

Source: Capt. Virendra N Mishra / TST Newsdesk




Previous Next

We Have Increased & Enhanced Our Global Presence: Mr. Suresh Sinha, MD, IRClass

View More Videos


India Tanker Shipping Trade Summit 2018

View All Albums